There are seven Supreme Court justices and each is appointed by the governor from a list of nominated qualified attorneys. Each justice must be an attorney for ten years in good standing with the Florida Bar. A justice may serve until the mandatory retirement age of 75. The governor must appoint a justice from each of the five geographical areas that contain the district courts of appeal, and two justices may be selected from a state-wide pool of qualified applicants. Supreme Court justices are subject to retention election. Regardless of when the justice is appointed, each justice’s name appears on the next general election ballot, and the public may vote to retain or remove that justice from office.