If You Get A Divorce, How Is Your Property Divided?

Florida is known as an equitable distribution state. This means that the courts have the power to decide how property and debts obtained during a marriage should be fairly divided upon divorce. Even though fault is not an issue in granting the dissolution, the division of property and possessions, and the responsibility for support and…

How Do You Get A Marriage License?

A marriage license is issued by the clerk of the circuit court.[1] Blood tests are no longer required in Florida. You can apply for a marriage license in any county in Florida, even if you do not get married there. The license is valid for 60 days after issuance.[2] [1] § 741.01, Fla. Stat. [2]…

How Old Must A Person Be To Get Married?

A person who is 18 can marry without parental consent. However, a person who is at least 17 years old may obtain a marriage license so long as they provide written parental consent and the older party to the marriage is not more than 2 year older than the younger party to the marriage.[1] [1]…

What Must The Tenant Do To Maintain The Premises?

The tenant must also follow applicable building, housing and health codes and statutes. The tenant has an obligation to keep the premises clean and sanitary; remove garbage; keep plumbing fixtures clean, sanitary and in repair; use equipment and appliances in a reasonable manner; not destroy, deface or remove property of the landlord or allow those…

What Must The Landlord Do To Maintain The Premises?

The landlord must follow all applicable building, housing and health codes and statutes. This usually means keeping roofs, windows, screens, doors, floors, steps, porches, exterior walls, foundations, and structural components in good repair and the plumbing in reasonable working condition. Unless otherwise agreed in writing, for any rentals other than a single family house or…